Quick Lactose Free Vanilla Pudding

I haven’t posted in a couple weeks, I’ve been neglecting the site something awful. I was going through some of my recipes and re writing them to be a little neater and thought I’d share this one with you all. Especially since it’s getting colder outside eating this pudding while it’s still warm is a treat. This is just how I like to whip it up some times and is a recipe that I’ve come up with on my own but I based it on a fairly simple regular pudding recipe. I suppose this also counts a vegan as it omits using any eggs. (Fact of the day: adding in eggs would make it a custard!)

Lactose Free Vanilla Pudding:

Ingredients:

1/3 cup sugar

3 Tablespoons corn starch

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups vanilla soy or vanilla almond milk (you can use just plain milk here but I love the extra vanilla and sweetness)

1 cup coconut milk

1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

Add the coconut milk and 1 1/4 of the soy/almond milk to a sauce pan and bring it just to steaming . Set the remaining milk aside in a bowl, we’ll use that later.

In your sauce pan stir in the vanilla, sugar, and salt until they are dissolved. Bring the mix up to boiling and while that is coming to temperature mix the cornstarch and the remaining milk.

Take the pot off the burner and slowly stir in the cornstarch mixture until it begins to thicken. Make sure that you are stirring constantly or the cornstarch could clump up on you and leave big globs in your pudding.

Let it cool a bit a thicken some more, then either enjoy it warm or put it in the fridge with a layer of saran wrap over the top. A trick to keeping it from forming a skin is to just let the saran wrap touch the surface of the pudding, that way no air comes in contact with it.

Hopefully you guys enjoy and I’ll post some more of my recipes up soon! Till next post,

Amber

Let me know what you think!

